Thursday, January 06, 2005

Just beginning to learn the old Irish legends

I've heard of the Ulster Cycle. This includes the stories of Cuchullin. But what is the Fenian Cycle?

Ah so here is a very brief description of the four great cycles of Irish legend...

1. The Mythological Cycle: stories of the Tuatha Te' Dunaan, goddess Dana's people, who inhabited Eire before the coming of the sons of Mil, whose descendants are the current people of Ireland.
2. The Ulster Cycle, the Red Branch Cycle, mainly about King Conchobar and Cuchullin
3. The Fenian Cycle, the Ossianic Cycle. Of Finn Mc Cool
4. The Historical Cycle. A miscellany centred on the various high kings.


Post a Comment

<< Home